The Jury

The Jury is selected by AIACA and comprised of three leading architects from across the nation. The Jury has the duty to view projects, remain impartial, and select winning entries that best exemplify outstanding sustainable architectural design incorporating concrete masonry construction within California and Nevada.

The Distinguished Jury for the 2024 Concrete Masonry Design Awards Program includes:



Head Juror Timothy Hawk, FAIA, President at WSA Studio

As a leader and innovative practitioner, Timothy Hawk, FAIA has increased design awareness in a mid-sized city and advanced knowledge exchange among architects and allied professionals through improved digital access, collaborative models, and educational programming.

Hawk is the CEO of AIA Ohio Gold medal firm WSA Studio in Columbus and has been an architectural educator for more than twenty-five years. His national leadership has included service on the AIA national Board of Directors, the Strategic Council, and the AIAS board. Currently, Hawk is a member of the Board of Directors for the Architects Foundation, a member of the Board of Directors for Neighborhood Design Center (Columbus), and a member of the Grandview Heights Planning Commission.



Marisol Foreman, AIA, CPHD, NCARB, LEED® AP BD+C Partner, Sustainability Manager

Pairing aesthetics with analytics, Marisol Foreman

seeks to integrate data-informed and sustainable design principles into daily practice. As Partner and Sustainability Manager at Rowland+Broughton, she is known for her ability to approach projects with a creative solution-oriented perspective, utilizing data to make informed decisions and advocating for the best sustainable solutions to fit each project's key objectives, resulting in a building that achieves high performance goals as well as an aesthetically pleasing and award-winning design. An active volunteer, she is a Board Member of the Colorado Green Building Guild and Co-Chair of the AIA Colorado Committee on the Environment.



Pat Ballasch, AIA, LEED® AP

Pat Ballasch, AIA, LEED® AP is a principal and president of DAG Architects.

He received his Bachelor and Master of Architecture from

the University of Florida, was a State Director and President of AIA Northwest Florida, and for several years has been the head juror for the Florida Masonry Association Awards program. He has received multiple Honor Awards for Masonry Design, Unbuilt and Completed designs, and received the AIA Northwest Florida Honor Award for service to the profession. Currently he serves as the University of Florida College of Architecture Advisory Committee Chair. Pat is an accomplished artist, skilled in pencil drawing, painting, and digital art.